Full English

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I appreciate that a full cooked English breakfast isn’t everyone’s cup of tea and, in all honesty, I’m not normally in the mood for eating much first thing in the morning so it’s not something I often indulge in. In fact, thinking back over the last year I can’t remember a single occasion when I had a “full English” at home.

Holidays seem to be an exception to the rule, though. When I’m away, my appetite for breakfast comes back with a vengeance and, when we’re self-catering in the Lake District, the cooked breakfast has become somewhat of a ritual for us.

The hope is that all the walking and activity is enough to counter the weight-gaining properties of the morning fry-up! In fairness, it does seem to work! :-)

I’m a big fan of supporting local shops and local producers so yesterday afternoon a visit to “The Honeypot” was a must. Not only is it Hawkshead’s local village shop, with, according to their own information, a 100 year history, but it also stocks a large selection of locally produced eggs, meats, teas, and more.

This morning, the large pot of English breakfast tea’s brewed and I’m now really looking forward to my first cooked breakfast of our Hawkshead holiday.

Links

1 Comment

Filed under Breakfast, Food

One response to “Full English

  1. Pingback: Food | Pearltrees

Leave a Reply

